FOR MOST STUDENTS ...
Beginning July 1, 2007, students may gain residency by living in Utah continuously for one year (with no departures exceeding 30 days). In addition, they must:
ARE THESE CHANGES RETROACTIVE? No. A student who has already lived in Utah for for one year prior to July 1, 2007 cannot use that year to get residency. The clock starts ticking on July 1. So the student must either earn 60 credit hours at a Utah college or reside for one more year in Utah to gain residency. In other words, they must use the old rules to qualify for residency.
OTHER WAYS TO QUALIFY ...
For some students, there are other ways to qualify for Utah residency. They are as follows:
WAIVER OF NON-RESIDENT TUITION - To the extent allowed under federal law, a student may be exempt from paying the non-resident portion of tuition if the student:
Note that all degree-seeking students who do not otherwise qualify for residency may apply for a non-resident tuition waiver through the Financial Aid office.
WHAT DOES NOT QUALIFY A STUDENT FOR UTAH RESIDENCY? - 1.) Parents own property in Utah, 2.) Grandma or other relatives live in Utah (other than parents), 3.) Parents used to live in Utah, 4.) Student attended high school in Utah but family moved prior to graduation, 6.) Parents moved to Utah, but student is 24 years old (or older), 8.) Parents (or student) work in Utah but physically reside elsewhere, 7.) Student has pioneer ancestry, or 8.) Student knows state song.
To get additional details regarding the residency rules, please review the Board of Regent's policy.