DIXIE STATE COLLEGE OF UTAH
POLICIES AND PROCEDURES MANUAL
Policy No: 17
Policy: WORKERS COMPENSATION
4-17 WORKERS COMPENSATION
Dixie State College is committed to providing a safe work environment. If, however, an injury is sustained while on the job, each employee shall be eligible to receive workmen's compensation.
17.1.1 Accidents resulting in personal injury are to be reported immediately to the employee's immediate supervisor, and within twenty-four hours to the Human Resource Office.
17.1.2 A Workers Compensation Fund of Utah form (#122) must be completed by both employee and supervisor within two working days of the injury and submitted to the Human Resource Office.
17.1.3 Only serious injuries are to be handled by the hospital emergency room.
184.108.40.206 All other routine injury treatments will be handled by the medical clinic specified by Dixie State College
220.127.116.11 Supervisors are responsible for arranging transportation for injured employees to emergency treatment facilities when immediate care is necessary.
18.104.22.168 If injuries are life threatening, the supervisor should call 9-911.
17.1.4 After initial treatment and diagnosis at the specified medical clinic, an employee may request follow-up treatment by a personal physician.
17.1.5 Dixie State College has the right to require a second medical opinion regarding any diagnosis.
17.1.6 When the attending physician directs a period of recuperation during which the employee must be absent from work, Dixie State College will require a signed statement from the physician.
17.1.7 Dixie State College will encourage medical diagnosis to allow quick return to full duty work, temporary transitional assignment, or ADA accommodated assignment.
22.214.171.124 If the health care provider treating the employee certifies the employee is able to return to a temporary transitional assignment, the employee may decline the employer's offer of this assignment. As a result, employee may lose workers compensation payments but is entitled to remain eligible under the Family Medical Leave Act until the 12 week entitlement is exhausted.
126.96.36.199 Decisions with regard to continuing treatment or rehabilitation will involve the Human Resource Office.
17.2.1 Medical Benefits: In accordance with the Medical and Surgical Fee Schedule adopted by the Utah State Industrial Commission, the Workers Compensation Fund will pay directly to the medical provider all reasonable and necessary medical expenses related to the disability.
17.2.2 Compensation Benefits: When an injury results in lost time in excess of three days, the employee is entitled to compensation in lieu of wages at the rate of 66 2/3% of his/her average weekly rate, plus $5 per week for each dependent. The maximum weekly compensation rate cannot exceed 100% of the state average weekly wage as determined by the State Office of Employment Security and declared by the Industrial Commission.
188.8.131.52 Workers compensation will issue the 66 2/3% compensation payment check directly to the employee.
184.108.40.206 The employee may elect to use sick or vacation leave to be compensated for the remaining 1/3 of wages not covered by Workers Compensation. If the employee elects to use accrued leave, he/she must notify the Human Resources Office and the employee’s supervisor.
220.127.116.11 If the employee elects not to use leave, or does not have accrued leave available, arrangements must be made for the employee's portion of dental premium.
18.104.22.168 Regular leave credits will accrue during absence under this section in a sick or vacation leave status.
17.2.3 Family Medical Leave Act: When an injury results in lost time in excess of one week, a workers compensation leave will be treated as family medical leave.
17.2.4 ADA: When an employee returning from a workers compensation injury is a qualified individual with a disability, he/she will have rights under the ADA.
17.2.5 Permanent Disability: If an injured employee suffers an amputation or permanent loss of bodily function, he/she will be paid a fixed amount of compensation in monthly installments. Pursuant to state law, permanent partial disability is determined by a workers compensation doctor when the injured employee has reached a point of medical stability after the injury.
17.2.6 Death Benefit: In the case of death as the direct result of an industrial work-related accident, dependents of the deceased employee are entitled to compensation. Pursuant to state law, the weekly amount cannot exceed 66 2/3% of the deceased's average weekly wage, up to a maximum of 85% of the average weekly wage in Utah. The Industrial Commission will specify payment up to a maximum period from the date of death. Dependents will also receive a specified amount for burial expenses